Review

Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys Review

Salt to the Sea

Plot Outline

This book is set during WW2 and follows the story of four teenagers. All four what passage on the Wilhelm Gustloff and they all have secrets that they will do anything to hide.

My Opinion 

This book was excellent. It had received a lot of hype before I started it and I was worried that I wasn’t going to enjoy it as much.I ended up flying through this book as I couldn’t put it down. This book is really fast paced and this is helped by the multiple POVs. The multiple POVs really helped the story to flow as we quickly moved from each character. At first, I wasn’t sure about the multiple POVs but I found that each character had a really distinct voice so I didn’t get confused which I find often happens with multiple POV books. Due to this being a WW2 book I knew that it was going to be emotional and it was especially towards the end. This was my first Ruta Sepetys book and I thought that her writing was excellent. I thought the way that she connected all of the characters was done really well. I thought that  she created really realistic characters and I felt really connected to them. I think this made the story even more heartbreaking as you know that there isn’t going to be a happy ending. I was really impressed with this book and I look forward to reading more from Ruta in the future.

5 Stars

Kirsty xoxo

8 thoughts on “Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys Review

Leave a comment