Top 10 Tuesdays

Top 10 Tuesday- Best Books Of 2016

top10-tuesday

This week’s topic is our favourite books of 2016. This year I have only read 22 books that I gave 5 stars to so it was quite easy to narrow this list down. I feel that I have been tougher with my ratings this year and very few books have been given 5 stars. Looking back it seems like such a long time ago since I read some of these books.

Winter

Winter by Marissa Meyer– I was really sad when The Lunar Chronicles came to an end. I had really enjoyed reading about the characters and their quest to defeat Queen Levana. I was really happy with the way that this series was wrapped up. I liked the new characters that were introduced in this book. I really liked how Meyer connected all the characters stories together and the way that she took the original fairy tales and turned them into something new.

Carry On

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell– When I started this I wasn’t sure if I was going to like it. I was concerned that it was going to be a copy of Harry Potter and whilst it was similar it had it’s  own qualities which I really enjoyed. The characters are what makes this book so good. I particularly liked the relationship between Baz and Simon.

Clockwork Princess

Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare– I really enjoyed reading Cassandra Clare’s books at the beginning of the year but this was my favourite. I prefer The Infernal Devices to The Mortal Instruments and this is my favourite book in the series. This was such a fantastic ending to the series and I was not expecting the ending. Whilst reading this book I felt pretty much every emotion there were some really happy moments as well as some really heartbreaking ones.

 

The Giver

The Giver by Lois Lowry– I found this world to be so interesting to read about and I think that this is such an important read. This book really makes you think and I really enjoyed reading it.

 

And Then There Were None

And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie– This was such a well-written mystery and it kept me guessing right up until the end. The atmosphere that was created in this book was excellent and I felt like I was alongside the characters on the island.

Salt to the Sea

Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys– This was an excellent read. This book is set in WW2 and follows 4 characters as they try to get on the Wilhelm Gustloff. This was a really heartbreaking book and I thought that Ruta’s writing was excellent.

Lady Midnight

Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare– I think that this is Cassandra’s best book to date. I really liked all of the new characters and how diverse the cast of characters was. There were so many plot twists that it kept me hooked right up until the end.

The Book Thief

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak- This was another excellent WW2 novel that I read this year. This book is really unique as the narrator is Death which made this a really interesting read.

my-sisters-keeper

My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult- The plot of this book is unlike anything else that I have read. The ending was really shocking as it was not what I was expecting to happen.

heartless-read

Heartless by Marissa Meyer- I loved this book. I like the way that Meyer had combined parts of the original story as well as creating her own.

What are your favourite books from this year?

Kirsty xoxo

 

 

Leave a Reply

