Top 10 Tuesdays

Top 10 Tuesday: New To Me Authors That I Read For The First Time In 2016

This week’s topic is authors that you discovered in 2016. This is a list of authors that I read for the first time this year. I had quite a few authors that could have gone on this list so it was really difficult to narrow down.

Delirium

Lauren Oliver- First on my list is Lauren Oliver. I read quite a few of her books this year and for the most part, I really enjoyed them. I read the Delirium trilogy and I really enjoyed it, I felt that each book in the trilogy was just as good as the previous which often isn’t the case. I also read Panic which I really enjoyed and I sat and read it in a day. I read Before I Fall which is my least favourite book that I have read from her. I want to read some of her other books as well and I plan on getting to them next year. I want to read Vanishing Girls, Replica, and The Shrunken Head.

Anna and the French Kiss

Stephanie Perkins- I really loved the Anna and the French Kiss series. I thought that they were so much fun to read and I really liked the characters that she created. I also read one of the short story collections that she edited (My True Love Gave To Me). I have recently got my hands on Summer Days and Summer Nights so I will be reading that in 2017 and I can’t wait to see the range of stories in this collection.

The Queen of the Tearling

Erika Johansen- If you are a fan of fantasy you need to check  out Erika’s series. I read the first two books in The Queen of the Tearling trilogy and I really enjoyed them. I am so excited to get my hands on the last book.

The Sin Eater's Daughter

Melinda Salisbury- I always really enjoy supporting UK authors as I feel like I read a lot of US authors and whilst there is nothing wrong with that I enjoy seeing authors from my own country. I read the first two books in The Sin Eater’s Daughter series this year and I really enjoyed both of them. What I find interesting about this series is that each book follows a different character and the author ties the story together.

Passenger

Alexandra Bracken- I may have only read one book from this author this year but I enjoyed it so much that I can’t wait to read more from her. Firstly Passenger has a beautiful cover but the writing inside is equally as beautiful. I couldn’t believe how this book ended and I can’t wait for Wayfarer to come out next month.

Salt to the Sea

Ruta Sepetys- Salt to the Sea is one of my favourite books of the year. I am a huge fan of historical fiction but I tend to read books set during the Tudor period. It was good to read something set during a different time. I thought that this was a really powerful and emotional read. It highlighted an event in WW2 that I had never heard of which made it different from anything else I’ve read. I also read Out of the Easy which is set in the 1950s in New Orleans and I really enjoyed this one too.

The Neverland Wars

Audrey Greathouse- I really enjoy reading retellings and The Neverland Wars is a retelling of Peter Pan. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and after reading I was hoping that there would be a sequel. I was really happy to find out that there is going to be a sequel at it is called The Piper’s Price.

The Witch's Kiss

Katharine and Elizabeth Corr- This was a debut that I really enjoyed and I am currently reading the second book as I was lucky enough to receive a copy via Net Galley.

Poison Study

Maria V. Snyder- I read the entire Study Trilogy this year and I really enjoyed it. If you enjoy reading fantasy then I would really recommend checking out Maria’s work. I know I will be reading more from her next year.

my-sisters-keeper

Jodi Picoult- I can’t believe that I have never read a book by Jodi Picoult before this year. I thought that My Sister’s Keeper was an excellent book and was different from anything else that I have read. I was left shocked by the ending as it was not what I was expecting. I also read Small Great Things which was a new release this year. It deals with the topic of racism and I think that it is a really important read.

Please leave the links to your posts and I will check them out.

Kirsty xoxo

4 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday: New To Me Authors That I Read For The First Time In 2016

Leave a Reply

