Wrap Up

February Wrap Up

Today I am going to be sharing with the books that I read in the month of February. I had a pretty good month as I was able to read 9 books which is better than last month. Although it isn’t quite as good as last year. The 9 books that I read totaled 3300 pages and I read mainly 3-star books with a couple of 4 stars and one 5-star read. I read a range of genres including; historical fiction, fantasy, contemporary, mystery and one classic.

jane-steele

Jane Steele by Lyndsay Faye- I was really excited for this book as it is a sort of retelling of Jane Eyre. The main character has many similarities to Jane Eyre except that she is a serial killer. I found the first part of the book to be really enjoyable I especially liked the section where Jane was at school. However, the second half of the book really let it down as it was much slower and became focused on a romance.

the-girl-on-the-train

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins- I really enjoyed Gone Girl and whenever I hear reviews about this book people always compare it to Gone Girl. I didn’t enjoy this as much as Gone Girl. I found the pacing to be a lot slower and it didn’t grip me in the same way that Gone Girl did.

between-shades-of-gray

Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys- This was by far the best book that I read this month. I am a huge fan of Ruta’s other books particularly Salt to the Sea. This is another WW2 book and it did not disappoint me. I think that Ruta is very good and creating a story and characters that you care about. I can’t wait to see what she does next.

meet-me-at-beachcomber-bay

Meet Me At Beachcomber Bay by Jill Mansell- This was another fun read by Jill Mansell. I loved all the characters in this book and I thought that it dealt with some difficult topics in a really realistic way. Despite the plot being quite predictable, it was still a really enjoyable read.

tales-from-the-shadowhunter-academy

Tales From The Shadowhunter Academy by Cassandra Clare- It was great to be back in the Shadowhunting world again. I did enjoy this collection but I didn’t think it was as good as The Bane Chronicles. I do wish that I read this before reading Lady Midnight as we learn a lot of things in this collection that are relevant in Lady Midnight.

the-secret-lives-of-the-amir-sisters

The Secret Lives Of The Amir Sisters by Nadiya Hussain- When I found out that Nadiya was writing a book I really wanted to check it out. I really liked that this book focused on a family relationship rather than a romantic one. I also really liked that Nadiya had incorporated her personal background into the story. However, I did think that plot was quite basic and the story was quite predictable. I am interested to see what Nadiya will do in the future.

sense-and-sensibility

Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen- This isn’t my favourite book from Austen but it was quite an enjoyable read. I thought that this story was a bit slow and took me awhile to get into. The male leads in this book didn’t really appeal to me so it made it difficult to understand why the characters liked them. I felt that the ending was a bit rushed, I definitely prefer Austen’s later work.

the-gatecrasher

The Gatecrasher by Madeleine Wickham- I have found that I don’t tend to enjoy Madeleine’s books as much as Sophie’s despite them being written by the same person. I find that Sophie’s earlier books written under her real name are not as funny as her more recent work. However, I did really enjoy this story. I thought that the plot was interesting as it is about a woman who preys on grieving men. I found this to be a really enjoyable read and I sped through it.

the-bad-beginning

The Bad Beginning by Lemony Snicket- I decided to reread this as I want to watch the new Netflix series but wanted to refresh myself on the story and the characters. I did originally give this 4 stars but I decided to lower this to 3 after rereading it. I didn’t enjoy the writing style as much. I didn’t like how the author kept explaining words meant although I realise that he does this because it is a children’s book. Overall it was still an enjoyable read but I didn’t enjoy it as much as I did when I was younger.

What books did you read in February?

Kirsty xoxo

One thought on “February Wrap Up

  1. I agree with you that I enjoyed Gone Girl more than The Girl on the Train, Gone Girl caught me by surprise a lot more. I have a few of these on my TBR so it’s good to hear you enjoyed them. I recently posted my wrap up and TBR on my blog if you want to check it out 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

