Uncategorized

World War 2 Books I Want To Read

Last year I read a few WW2 novels and I really enjoyed them. It is a genre that I have always quite enjoyed from reading Carrie’s War and The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas to more recently Salt to the Sea and The Book Thief. Today I thought I would share some of the WW2 books that are on my TBR.

number-the-stars

Number the Stars by Lois Lowry- I really enjoyed The Giver by Lois Lowry and this won a Newbery Medal so I have a feeling that it is going to be really good. Annemarie’s friend moves into her house and pretends to be part of the family so that she is not taken away by the Nazis. This sounds like it is going to be a really emotional read.

rose-under-fire

Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein- I wasn’t sure whether to keep this one on my TBR as I wasn’t a huge fan of Code Name Verity but I decided that I would still like to give this one a go. Rose is a pilot that is captured and sent to a concentration camp. I am hoping that I will like this book more than her other book.

the-last-telegram

The Last Telegram by Liz Trenow- Lily makes a terrible mistake during the war and has to learn to live with the choice that she made.

the-storyteller

The Storyteller by Jodi Picoult- I really like Jodi’s writing and I think that she is really good at making an impact with her work. Sage starts spending time with an old man but is shocked when he tells her that he was a Nazi officer and he wants her to kill him. I think that this is going to be an excellent read and I can’t wait to check it out.

between-shades-of-grey

Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys- Salt to the Sea was one of my favourite reads of 2016 so I really need to check out her other book that is set during WW2. The main character is sent to a camp in Siberia and I think that this is going to be another fantastic book from Ruta.

All the Light We Cannot See

All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr- I have been recommended this book quite a lot and I really need to get around to reading it. This book won the Pulitzer Prize in 2015 so I am expecting great things.

Do you have any WW2 fiction recommendations?

Kirsty xoxo

One thought on “World War 2 Books I Want To Read

Leave a Reply

