Top 10 Tuesdays

Top 10 Tuesday- Books To Buy A YA Lover

This week’s topic is a Holiday Gift Guide. I chose to do a gift guide for people that love YA. This list is my recommendations for anyone that loves YA. There is a mix of fantasy, contemporary and historical fiction so  hopefully there is something for everyone. If I have a review for the book I will be linking it so you can read more on my thoughts.

Cinder

Cinder by Marissa Meyer– I really enjoyed The Lunar Chronicles and this is the first book in the series. Each book is a retelling and this one is a Cinderella retelling. This is a science fiction series. The main character Cinder is a cyborg mechanic. This series is unique and I like that each book follows a new character whilst combining the stories of previous characters. I would highly recommend this series as it is so much fun to read and it had amazing characters.

Fangirl

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell– I would recommend this for anyone that wants a light hearted contemporary. This book follows Cath during her first year at college. Cath is a quite shy and she would prefer to stay in writing fanfiction. She meets Levi and they develop a really cute relationship. I like this book because I find Cath’s character to be really realistic and I can easily relate to her.

The Selection

The Selection by Kiera Cass– I  think that the books in this series would make perfect presents partly for the gorgeous covers and also because the story is really fun. In the first three books, we follow America Singer who is participating in The Selection hosted by the Prince in order for him to find a wife. This series is so much fun to read and whilst the last two books aren’t as good I would still recommend checking out this series.

Finding Audrey

Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella– I think that this is such an important read for teens as it follows Audrey who has anxiety. We get to see how it affects Audrey’s life and how she tries to deal with it. I think mental illness is such an important topic and it is good that there are more books being written that deal with this topic. What I particularly like about this book is that it isn’t all doom and gloom and there are some funny moments which I think is important.

Anna and the French Kiss

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins– I loved this series. It is such a fun and cute contemporary series. It is perfect for any contemporary fan. Each book follows a different character and they are all set in different cities which I really enjoyed reading about.

Passenger

Passenger by Alexandra Bracken– If the cover isn’t enough to draw you in, the amazing writing most certainly will. This book is about time travel and the descriptions of the different places that the characters visited were amazing and I could easily picture them.

Lady Midnight

Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare– I felt that this list would not be complete without a Cassandra Clare book. I love all of her books and I would recommend any of them for a YA lover but I think that Lady Midnight is one of her best books to date.

Salt to the Sea

Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys– This book was amazing. It is set during WW2 and is about the Wilhelm Gustloff tragedy which I knew nothing about before reading this book. I thought that the writing in this book was excellent and it was such an emotional read.

The Witch's Kiss

The Witch’s Kiss by Katharine and Elizabeth Corr- I really enjoyed this book and I am currently reading an arc of the sequel. This book follows Merry who is a witch and her destiny is to stop the King of Hearts. The King of Hearts was created by an evil wizard and he takes the hearts of people who are in love.

The Neverland Wars

The Neverland Wars by Audrey Greathouse– Last on my list is a Peter Pan retelling. I really enjoyed reading this. I felt that the author captured the essence of Peter Pan whilst creating her own story. I would highly recommend this if you are a fan of retellings.

Leave me the links to your post for this week.

Kirsty xoxo

 

 

Leave a Reply

