Top 5 Wednesdays

Top 5 Wednesday: Gateway Books to Your Favorite Genre

This week’s topic is Gateway Books to Your Favorite Genre. I did a post about my all-time favourite fantasy books which you can see here. In this post, I thought I’d recommend some YA contemporaries. Contemporary is probably my second most read genre behind fantasy.  If you want to check out the Goodreads group then the link is here.

Fangirl

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell– This book follows Cath who moves to college with her twin sister. Cath is quite shy and prefers to stay in and write fanfiction whereas her sister Wren is more outgoing. I really enjoyed this book as I could relate to Cath so much. I also really liked the relationship between Cath and Levi as it built up slowly and was really sweet.

Anna and the French KissAnna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins– This trilogy is perfect if you are looking for light hearted cute romances. This is a companion series so each book follows a different character but characters from the other books appear as well. I really like that each book takes place in a different city.

Just Listen

Just Listen by Sarah Dessen– This book is a bit more serious as it deals with serious topics such as eating disorders and rape. I thought that these topics were handled really well. I liked that this book had a slow building relationship between the two main characters. I like that they bonded over their love of music.

Finding Audrey

Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella– I love Sophie Kinsella’s books and I really enjoyed her first YA book. This book follows Audrey who is dealing with anxiety and I think Kinsella wrote about this really well. I liked that although this book dealt with a serious topic there were still some funny moments.

everything-everything

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon- This one is a recent favourite but I would still highly recommend it. This book is about Maddy who is allergic to everything and can’t leave her house. She’d accepted this as her life until she met Olly. I thought that this was such a cute story and the plot took a surprising twist.

Which books made it to your list?

Kirsty xoxo

10 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Gateway Books to Your Favorite Genre

  1. Great picks for YA Contemporary! I did my tw5 by choosing one book for five different genres. I also chose Just Listen for my YA Contemporary, as it was one of the first books in that genre I ever read 🙂 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

