Uncategorized

5 Overhyped Books

Today I wanted to read books that I think are overhyped. By overhyped, I mean that everyone says really positive things about them and I have either not enjoyed them at all or they haven’t lived up to my expectations. I find this is quite common as bloggers and youtubers often rave about certain books which makes me have really high expectations for them and they don’t always live up to them. Please let me know some of the books that you feel are overhyped. The Perks of Being a Wallflower

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky- So many people love this book but it really was not for me. I found it to be really slow and even though it is quite short I struggled to get through it. Very little seemed to happen during this book and I found it really boring to read.

The Raven Boys

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater– A lot of people really love this series but I just could not get into this first book. I struggled to finish it and after I had finished it I had no idea what I had read. For the majority of the book I had no idea what was happening and I find it very difficult to summarise what it was about.

To All The Boys I've Loved Before

To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han– Whilst this book wasn’t bad it was not as good as I was expecting it to be. At the start, I really did not like this book as I found the characters really annoying and I wasn’t a fan of the writing style. As I read more I started to enjoy it more. I do think that this book is overhyped as the plot is quite basic and predictable.

The Summer I Turned Pretty

The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han– This series really annoyed me. Belly was a very annoying character and I found her constant whining really irritating. Again a lot of people really rate this series but for me it was just ok and nothing amazing. I don’t know whether it’s because I’m older but I’m thinking about writing a separate post on this.

The 5th Wave

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey– A lot of people love this book and if it wasn’t for all the positive reviews I would probably have never picked this book up. I really did not get on with this book. I found it very confusing and difficult to keep up with the changing perspectives.

Have you read any books that you think are overhyped?

Kirsty xoxo

2 thoughts on “5 Overhyped Books

Leave a comment