Review

Something In Between by Melissa de la Cruz Review

something-in-between

Something in Between by Melissa de la Cruz

Plot Outline

Jasmine is a hard working student and she has big ambitions but when she finds out that her family is in the country illegally everything changes. She starts to rebel and do things that she never did before.

My Opinion 

The topic of this book really interested me and I think that it is a really important topic. The author used some of her own experiences to create this novel which is really interesting. I did feel a little disappointed that the romance overtook the main plot of the story. The romance was very insta-love and had too much drama. The boy that Jasmine was seeing was the son of a congressman which was very convenient and helped the author to create a happy ending for Jasmine. I found the relationship very realistic and Jasmine seemed to fall in love very quickly and she kept saying that Royce was The One which did make me roll my eyes a little. Whilst the romance felt unrealistic the whole situation did feel very realistic. I think the author did a good job at showing the emotions that go along with finding out that you are in a country illegally. I think drawing on her own experiences really helped to give this book a realistic portrayal of the situation. I did mark this book down because of the romance element of this book if it had been a bit more of a side plot I wouldn’t have minded but it did become the main focus of the story in parts. Overall I think that this is an important book as it addresses an important topic. If you were looking for another book that covers this topic then I would suggest The Sun Is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon.

I received a copy from Net Galley.

Kirsty xoxo3 Stars

Leave a Reply

