Top 10 Tuesdays

Top 10 Tuesday: Best Books I Have Read In 2017 So Far

top10-tuesday

Today’s Top 10 Tuesday topic is the best books that we have read so far this year. This topic was quite difficult as I have only read five 5 star books this year and one of them was a reread. It was difficult to narrow down my nineteen four star books to put my favourites on this list. If you want to see more of my favourites then check out my Top 5 books I read in Spring and Winter.

between-shades-of-gray

Between Shades of Grey by Ruta Sepetys- This book is set in WW2 and follows the events that took place during the Soviet rule. I love Ruta’s writing and I like that with both of her WW2 novels she has chosen to write about events that are not as well known as some of the other events that took place during the war. This book was a really powerful read and I would highly recommend it if you were looking for some WW2 fiction.

Caraval Read

Caraval by Stephanie Garber- Caraval is a mysterious game which people pay to participate in. I really enjoyed this book. The world was really unique and mysterious. There were lots of twists in this book and I really liked the characters. I had no idea who to trust for the whole book and I am looking forward to the second one.

Daughter of Smoke and Bone

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor- I really enjoyed this book. I liked Laini’s unique take on angel and demon mythology. I loved the characters in this book and I sped through this book. I am currently reading the second one and whilst it isn’t as good as the first one I am still really enjoying it.

A Court of Mist and Fury

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas- I thought that this was an excellent continuation of the story. We got to find out a lot more about Rhys in this book which really helped me to like him as a character. We got to see a lot of character development in this book and the ending was very shocking.

beautiful-broken-things

Beautiful Broken Things by Sara Barnard– This book is about friendship which I really enjoyed reading about. It made a change to read about friendship rather than romance. This book also dealt with mental health in a really realistic way. I thought that the characters were very realistic and relatable.

Ready Player One

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline- Not my typical sort of book but I really enjoyed this one. The majority of this book takes place within a virtual reality. The concept behind this book was really interesting. This book was really fast paced and gripping and the only reason I didn’t give it 5 stars was because the ending felt a little rushed.

My Name is Victoria

My Name is Victoria by Lucy Worsley- I love historical fiction and this book follows a young Queen Victoria. After watching the TV show Victoria I have wanted to read more about her. I enjoy Lucy’s writing and I hope that she will release more of these novels in the future.

Peter Pan

Peter Pan by J.M. Barrie- I really enjoyed reading this book especially as it made me see Peter Pan and Tinkerbell in a different light. This book is quite sinister as the lines between reality and fantasy become blurred.

Oliver Twist Read

Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens- This was a little slow to start with but the story soon picked up. I think that Dickens has created really memorable characters particularly Fagin who is a very sinister character.

The Thousandth Floor

The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee- This is my perfect sort of book as it follows a group of rich teenagers with a bit of a mystery. This is set in a futuristic New York and all of the characters have secrets which we slowly discover throughout the book.

 

What books made it to your list?

Kirsty xoxo

2 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday: Best Books I Have Read In 2017 So Far

Leave a Reply

