Wrap Up

May Wrap Up

Today I am sharing with you all of the books that I read in the month of May. I had a really good month and read a total of 12 books. This is made up of two 5 stars, two 4 stars, four 3 stars, three 2 stars and one 1 star. I had a really mixed month reading a range of books that I enjoyed and some that I didn’t enjoy.

A Court of Thorns and Roses

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas– I decided to reread this book before reading the second one. I loved this book the second time round and I am really glad that I decided to reread it as I had forgotten a lot of what happened. I found this book to be really addicting and fast paced so I just flew through it.

Oliver Twist Read

Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens- This was the classic that I decided to read this month. I really enjoyed reading this. I knew the basic plot of this book but I am glad that I finally read it. I found the characters to be really interesting and although at first, the pacing is a little slow I soon got into it.

Juliet Naked

Juliet Naked by Nick Hornby- I really did not enjoy this story. I felt that not a lot happened for the majority of the book and it moved very slowly. The characters felt very dull and not very memorable.

Ruthless

Ruthless by Sara Shepard- It is my goal to finish this series by the end of this year. I am finding that has these books progress they get even more far fetched and not as enjoyable as the earlier books.

A Court of Mist and Fury

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas- I really enjoyed this book and I thought that it was an excellent continuation of the story. We get to see a lot more of Rhys in this book and I grew to like him a lot more in this book. The ending was very shocking and I can’t wait to see how the story continues in the next book.

Maestra

Maestra by L.S. Hilton- I thought that this book was a thriller and it kind of is but it is more of an erotica novel. There is a lot of graphic sex in this book and very little in the way of plot.

King's Cage

King’s Cage by Victoria Aveyard- I was nervous going into this book as I didn’t enjoy Glass Sword but this was much better. We get Evangeline’s POV in this book which I found really interesting and I enjoyed seeing her character developed.

Hunted

Hunted by P.C. and Kristin Cast- This book was ok but I felt that not a lot happened. This book focused more on Zoey’s boy troubles rather than the actual story.

Thirteen Reasons Why

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher- This was a difficult book to rate as I read it really quickly but I felt that it wasn’t as good as the hype. I didn’t like that the characters didn’t really face any consequences to their actions apart from the feeling of guilt. Some of what happened was really serious and I felt that the characters should have received more of a punishment.

The Virgin Suicides

The Virgin Suicides by Jefferey Eugenides- I really did not enjoy this book. I felt that this book moved very slowly and not a lot happened. I didn’t really like the narration as I felt that I didn’t connect with any of the characters.

The Coldest Girl in Coldtown Read

The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black- This book was a massive struggle to finish. It is a vampire novel but I felt that it lacked any of the excitement that usually goes with this sort of novel. I really did struggle to finish this and I even considered DNFing it.

Paris For One and Other Stories Read

Paris for One and Other Stories by Jojo Moyes- This was an ok collection of short stories. Some of them were really enjoyable but some of them I really didn’t enjoy. Overall it was just an ok collection and I felt that some of the stories were very unnecessary.

Overall I had a really mixed reading month, I read some really good books but I also read quite a few that I really didn’t enjoy.

What did you read this month?

Kirsty xoxo

Leave a Reply

