Review

Small Great Things By Jodi Picoult Review

small-great-things

 

Small Great Things by Jodi Picoult 

Plot Outline 

Ruth has been a delivery nurse for twenty years. When she is attending a new baby she is switched with another nurse as the parents don’t want Ruth to touch their baby because they are white supremacists. When the baby has trouble breathing she hesitates as she doesn’t know whether to follow the orders of not touching the baby or save its life. When the baby dies she is charged and has to go on trial.

My Opinion 

This book deals with racism which I think is such an important topic. This topic needs to be discussed more and I think that Jodi Picoult did a really good job of highlighting this issue. This book is really thought provoking and it left me thinking about it even after I’d finished it. I think that this is a really powerful read and highlights the struggles that people of different races face on a regular basis. The story wrapped up well although the ending was a little convenient which is why I marked it down. Whilst reading this it was clear that the author had done a lot of research which helped to make the story realistic. The characters felt very realistic and I felt very attached to Ruth and I wanted her to get the justice that she deserved. Overall I thought that this was an excellent read and I would highly suggest it. I have now read two novels by Jodi Picoult and she is very good at writing realistic characters and creating a powerful story.

.4 Stars

Kirsty xoxo

I received a copy from Net Galley.

Leave a Reply

