The Names They Gave Us by Emery Lord Review

The Names They Gave Us

The Names They Gave Us by Emery Lord 

Plot Outline

When Luce’s mum’s cancer returns Luce begins to question her faith. To add to her pain her boyfriend decides to ‘pause’ their relationship. Her mum wants her to work at a different summer camp this year but Luce is reluctant to go as it is not her usual bible camp.

My Opinion 

I read When We Collided last year and I was a little disappointed but I thought I would give her new novel a try. Unfortunately, I didn’t really enjoy this book either. When I started this book I thought it was going to be a really good read. I thought that it was going to be emotional as it dealt with cancer and I also thought it was going to be interesting as we saw the main character question her religious beliefs. However, the romance element in this book took over. I personally was not a fan of the romance as I didn’t really like Henry. I also felt that the author added a lot of drama to the story that took away from the main plot. I thought that the pacing of this book was very slow and for the majority of the book, nothing really happened. The book is set at a summer camp so we get to read about a lot of the camp activities but this didn’t really interest me that much. The ending was a huge disappointment. The ending is left very open which I did not like. I really wanted to know what happened to Luce’s mum but we don’t know whether she got better or not.

 

3 Stars

Kirsty xoxo

Leave a Reply

