TV

Big Little Lies TV Review

Big Little Lies Book Review

Big Little Lies (2)

When I found out that they were making a mini-series of Big Little Lies based on the novel by Liane Moriarty with the same name I was really excited. I really enjoyed the book and I was looking forward to seeing it on the small screen. I prefer watching TV to films so I always loving seeing TV adaptations. Today I wanted to share my thoughts on the TV show. Overall I really enjoyed this adaptation and thought they did a good job of bringing this story to live.

Plot Outline

The story follows a group of mothers and their children in their first year of school. Everyone has their own secrets. From the start, we know that someone was killed at the school fundraiser but we don’t know who it is. We see snippets of side characters being interviewed by the police but we don’t find out until the very end who was killed and who was responsible.

My Opinion

I thought that this was filmed beautifully. I loved the scenery views that were shot. Particularly the scenes when the characters are driving along the roads. I felt that these images really helped to create the image of an idyllic perfect town which is what the author was intending in the book. I also liked the way the story was told how we saw little flashbacks and the interviews with the side characters.

I also really liked the music that was used in this show. I thought that the music that was selected really worked with what we were seeing on the screen. I particularly liked the theme song ‘Cold Little Heart by Michael Kiwanuka’.

The cast for this show was full of big names including Reese Witherspoon, Nicole Kidman, Shailene Woodley, Alexander Skarsgard and many others. I thought that everyone gave really good performances but I want to particularly highlight Nicole Kidman and Alexander Skarsgard. Their characters were involved in a domestic abuse storyline and I thought that they portrayed this fantastically. Nicole really showed the struggle that many women face when it comes to leaving abusive partners. Alexander portrayed Perry very well and it was very convincing and completely terrifying.

The show did make some changes which for the most part didn’t bother me too much. One of the main changes was that they changed the setting. The book is set in Australia whereas the show was set in Monterey California. This change didn’t really bother me as it didn’t affect the story and I loved the setting shots that the filmed. In the show, one of the characters has an affair which did not happen in the book and I wasn’t a fan of this change. I felt that it was added to create extra drama that was not needed. I am personally very against affairs and I don’t think they are acceptable in any situation and I dislike when different media forms use them to create drama. When we found out who the killer was in the book we got more background to the character so that we could understand their motives. This did not happen in the show and it, therefore, seems a bit strange that this person was involved. They could have explained this in a number of ways, they could have done a bit afterwards like in the book or it could have been mentioned earlier in the show.

I did think that the reveal was not quite as shocking in the show as it was in the book. I think this is partly because I was aware of the plot already so I knew what was going to happen. I do feel that the show made a lot of hints as to who was killed so when it did happen it wasn’t as shocking as it could have been.

Overall I was really happy with this adaptation and I would give it 4 stars. There are rumors that there is going to be a second season which I hope is not true. What I liked about this was that it was a mini-series and everything got wrapped up. I am not sure what they would do in another series. Nicole Kidman and Resse Witherspoon have optioned another Liane Moriarty book to be turned into a film. They have selected Truly Madly Guilty to be turned into a film and although the book didn’t blow me away like Big Little Lies I would be interested in seeing the film especially after seeing what a good job they did of this adaptation.

Kirsty xoxo

Leave a Reply

