Wrap Up

March and April Wrap Up

Today I am sharing my wrap-up for March and April.

Caraval Read

Caraval by Stephanie Garber- Caraval is a mysterious that Scarlett and her sister have wanted to play for years. When they get tickets they are really excited until her sister is kidnapped as part of the game and Scarlett has to find her. I really enjoyed this book there was so much mystery and I didn’t know who to trust. This book was really fast paced and I flew through it. I can’t wait for the sequel to come out.

Number the Stars

Number the Stars by Lois Lowry- This book is set during WW2 in Denmark. Annemarie’s family takes in her Jewish friend Ellen whilst they plan to help her escape to Sweeden. Despite being a short book I thought it was really good. I didn’t know about Denmark’s involvement in the war. The Danish helped the majority of Jews in their country escape to Sweeden. I think this book did a really good job at showing how brave people were and how people risked their lives in order to save others.

Through the Looking Glass

Through the Looking Glass by Lewis Carroll- After reading Alice in Wonderland I was looking forward to reading this book but I thought that it wasn’t as good as the first book. This book seemed to make even less sense than the first book and we are introduced to new characters that weren’t quite as engaging as the characters in the first book. The ending felt very abrupt in this book and ended in the same way as the first with Alice waking from a dream.

Ready Player One

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline- I had heard so many good things about this book but I wasn’t sure if it was for me as it is a science fiction novel about gaming which is not something that I am interested in. I ended up really enjoying this book. It is fast paced and the world was really interesting as it takes place within a virtual reality.

Traitor to the Throne

Traitor to the Throne by Alwyn Hamilton- This is the second book in the Rebel of the Sands series. I was hoping that this book would be an improvement on the first one as I felt it had a lot of potential, unfortunately, it was a bit disappointing. I felt that the story dragged with the majority of the action not happening until the end of the book.

Sushi for Beginners

Sushi for Beginners by Marian Keyes- This book was ok although in places it moved very slowly. I didn’t really connect with any of the characters.

My Name is Victoria

My Name is Victoria by Lucy Worsley- After reading Eliza Rose last year I was really excited to read this book. I really enjoyed this book as it followed a young Queen Victoria and she is someone I have become more interested in after watching the tv show Victoria. I liked Lucy’s take on the events and I can clearly see that she is passionate about history and knows the topic well.

See You in the Cosmos

See You in the Cosmos by Jack Cheng- I thought that this was an enjoyable read. I liked the main character Alex, we got to see him develop a lot during this book. I also really liked all of the side characters.

Optimists Die First

Optimists Die First by Susin Nielsen- I didn’t particularly like the way that the author presented mental health in this book. The main character suffers from anxiety and her friends found it funny and the main love interest wanted to ‘fix’ her which I did not like. I felt that the plot was very predictable and not very different from other YA contemporaries.

One of Us Is Lying

One of Us Is Lying by Karen M. McManus- I thought that this was a really enjoyable read and I was hooked from the start. Although I guessed the culprit early on the author kept revealing details that made me doubt the other characters.

 

April

The Idea of You

The Idea of You by Amanda Prowse- I thought that this was really well written and could feel the characters emotion as they experienced each miscarriage. The way that the author wrote about it made it feel very realistic and it was quite an emotional read.

The Death Cure

The Death Cure by James Dashner- I thought that this was a good conclusion to the series. It was fast-paced and full of action. The ending was a little too convenient but overall I was satisfied with how the story wrapped up.

Midnight Crossroad

Midnight Crossroad by Charlaine Harris- I really did not enjoy this book. I felt that nothing really happened for the majority of the book. I wasn’t a fan of any of the characters and overall this book was not for me.

Peter Pan

Peter Pan by J.M. Barrie- I really enjoyed this book. The book is more sinister than the Disney film. I really enjoyed reading about Neverland and I think that this would be a really interesting book to study.

Daughter of Smoke and Bone

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor- This book was amazing. I loved the world and the characters that Laini Taylor has created. I found the plot to be really interesting and I was hooked from the start.

The Names They Gave Us

The Names They Gave US by Emery Lord- This was a disappointing read. I was really hoping to enjoy it but I felt that not much happened. The romance became a big plot point and I wasn’t a huge fan of it.

Kirsty xoxo

Leave a Reply

