Favourites

Top 5 Books I Read In Winter

Top 5 Books I Read in Winter

Today I thought I would share with you the top 5 books that I read this winter. For this post,  the books included are ones that I read in December, January or February. Over these 3 months, I read a total of 28 books. In this time I only gave one book 5 stars and twelve 4 star books.

between-shades-of-gray

 

Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys- I have read Ruta’s other books and really enjoyed them so I knew I would like this one. This is another book that is set during WW2. This book covered what happened to countries under the Soviet rule which is an area that I know very little about. I think that Ruta is really good at taking events that not many people know about and working them into her stories. This was a really powerful and emotional read and I would highly recommend it.

a-quiet-kind-of-thunder

A Quiet Kind of Thunder by Sara Barnard– This book follows two characters who struggle with communicating; one is deaf and the other a selective mute. Whilst they find it difficult to communicate with others they can easily talk to each other using BSL. I really enjoyed this book and I thought that the characters and the situation felt realistic.

beautiful-broken-things

Beautiful Broken Things by Sara Barnard- This book is all about friendship and I really enjoyed reading it. I liked how all the characters felt really realistic. I am really looking forward to reading more from Sara in the future.

alices-adventures-in-wonderland

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by  Lewis Carroll- After reading Heartless I really want to read Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland as that was Marissa Meyer’s inspiration. I really enjoyed this book the world that Carroll has created is truly bonkers but I loved it.

room

Room by Emma Donoghue- I thought that this was a really well written emotional read. It is told from the POV of a five-year old which I found really interesting and I thought that it worked well for the story.

 

Kirsty xoxo

One thought on “Top 5 Books I Read In Winter

Leave a Reply

