Review

The Sword Of Summer by Rick Riordan Review

The Sword of Summer

The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan (Book 1 in the Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard series) 

Plot Outline 

After his mother died Magnus has lived on the streets of Boston. A man that his mother warned him about finds him and tells Magnus that he is the son of a Norse god. Magnus must find a weapon to prevent Ragnarok and the only way to do this is to die.

My Opinion

Rick Riordan’s books get spoken about quite a lot and I hadn’t read anything by him since I read the Percy Jackson series. I really wanted to dive back into his books as I remembered really enjoying them. This book intrigued me as it is about Norse mythology rather than Greek mythology. I feel that I know a fair amount about Greek mythology but I knew very little about the Norse gods. Despite having a different mythology in this book  I felt that it was very similar to the Percy Jackson series. The plot followed a similar pattern where the character finds out that his father is a god and then goes on some quest. I thought that Magnus and Percy were very similar characters and when I read this book it did feel a bit repetitive. There was a diverse range of characters in this book which I enjoyed seeing. Despite this book feeling similar to his other books I did enjoy reading it. I thought that it was a lot of fun and I will be continuing on with this series. I also want to read his other books as I have only read the Percy Jackson series.

3 Stars

Kirsty xoxo

Leave a Reply

