Review

Atlantia by Ally Condie Review

Atlantia

Atlantia by Ally Condie Review 

Plot Outline

Rio luves in the underwater of Atlantia and dreams of going Above. However, her twin sister Bay leaves her behind and she is stuck in Atlantia. Rio has to come up with a plan to get her Above and a long the way she uncovers many secrets.

My Opinion 

Ally Condie wrote the Matched trilogy which has mixed reviews but I really enjoyed it so I was hopeful that I would like this book. I want to start my review by saying if you are expecting a book about mermaids then this is not for you. I honestly thought that this book was about mermaids but it’s a dystopian set in an underwater city although there is mention of sirens. I thought that this book really lacked world building and what should have been a really interesting world wasn’t. I found it so difficult to imagine as the author gave us hardly any descriptions of the world. I didn’t connect with any of the characters in this book and nothing seemed to happen for the majority of the book. I felt that the romance should have been used more as it might have helped to make the story more interesting. The book was very slow moving and I didn’t connect with the story or the characters. I am really glad that this was a standalone as I would not want to read any other books set in this world.

Kirsty xoxo

 

 

2 Stars

 

Leave a Reply

