Tag

Reading Habits Tag

Reading Habits Tag

Today I am doing the Reading Habits Tag which is all about how we read. You can check out the original here.

1. Do you have a certain place at home for reading?

No not really. I will read pretty much anywhere. I do mainly read on my bed but I will sit on the sofa or read standing up whilst I am cooking. I am quite lucky as I am able to read in the car so whenever I am traveling in the car, bus or train I read. I have the Kindle app on my phone so I am never without a book so I can read whilst I wait for people without needing to carry a book with me.

2. Bookmark or random piece of paper?

I do try to use a bookmark as I have so many but I will use a bit of paper if it is more convenient. I often use receipts or old train tickets as sometimes these are easier to grab than a bookmark.

3. Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop after a chapter/ a certain amount of pages?

I tend to read in chapters so I will usually stop at the end of the chapter. However sometimes I can’t always read to the next chapter so I will stop mid-chapter but I always finish the page or paragraph that I am reading.

4. Do you eat or drink while reading?

Yes I do. I always have a bottle of water nearby or a cup of tea. I will also read whilst I eat especially when I’m reading on my phone as I can lay it down flat on the table or prop it up so I don’t need to hold like I would if I was reading a physical book.

5. Multitasking: Music or TV while reading?

I always have music playing in the background whilst I am reading and I will occasionally have the TV on but it’s usually a show that doesn’t require much watching like Come Dine With Me.
6. One book at a time or several at once?

I tend to have a couple of books on the go at once. Usually, because I am reading something on my phone as well as reading a physical book. I try not to have too many books on my currently reading shelf though as it can get confusing trying to keep up with all the different plots and characters.
7. Reading at home or everywhere?

I answered this in the first one but I will read anywhere. I do the majority of reading home but I nearly always find time to read elsewhere during the day. For example if I get to lectures early I will read on my phone whilst I wait for the lectuer to arrive.
8. Reading out loud or silently in your head?

I usually read in my head but sometimes when I read a classic I will read it out loud as I find that it can help me to understand the story a bit better.
9. Do you read ahead or even skip pages?

The only time I ever skip ahead is if it is a book that I am not enjoying. I will sort of skip over bits but I only do that if I really don’t like a book.
10. Breaking the spine or keeping it like new?

I try to keep the spines as crease free as possible but sometimes it is impossible to read a book without cracking the spine.
11. Do you write in your books?

No I never write in my books I have used post its in the past but I mainly just write any notes that I want to make in a notebook.

I would love to see your answers for this tag so leave your links?

Kirsty xoxo

Leave a Reply

