Review

Penryn and the End of Days Trilogy by Susan Ee Review

Today I am going to review the Penryn and The End Of Days trilogy or The Angelfall trilogy by Susan Ee. I will give a plot summary for the first book but will just give my opinion on the second and third book as I do not want to spoil them for you. Overall I really enjoyed this trilogy and I thought that each book was just as good as the last book. With trilogies, I usually like the first and last book and sometimes just the first book it doesn’t happen very often that I will like all of the books.

Angelfall

Plot Outline

Angels have taken over the world and causing mass destruction. When Penryn’s sister is taken by the angels she will do anything to get her back. She joins forces with Raffe a wingless angel in order to find her sister.

My Opinion

I really enjoyed this book. I thought the plot was unique and interesting. Usually, angels are shown as being good guys so it was interesting to see this different perspective on them. I really liked the characters in this book and the plot really drew me in. The chapters are really short which helped to make it a really fast paced book. I liked Penryn as she was a really strong character and she had a very strong sense of family and would do anything to protect them. I also really liked her relationship with Raffe. The book ends on a massive cliffhanger and I couldn’t wait to read the next book.

 

World After

We got to learn a lot more about the angels and their history in this book which I found really interesting. We didn’t get to see as much of Raffe in this book which I was a little disappointed with as I missed seeing him with Penryn. I really liked Penryn in this book as although she is a strong character we get to see some vulnerable moments and we are reminded that she is just a young girl. I think this makes her character more realistic as despite being tough she also struggles with the situation that she is in.

end-of-days

I thought that this was a really good conclusion and it wrapped up everything in a satisfying way. There was a lot of action in this book so I flew through it as I wanted to know what was going to happen. I loved Penryn in this book as we really got to see how far she was willing to go in order to protect her family. Whilst I really enjoyed the relationship with Raffe I am glad that it didn’t become the main focus of the story.

4 Stars

If you are looking for a new dystopian trilogy then I would highly recommend this one. Unlike others that I have read all the books in this series are consistently good. There is a romance but it isn’t the main plot focus and there isn’t a love triangle.

Have you read this series what did you think?

Kirsty xoxo

 

Leave a Reply

