Top 10 Tuesdays

Top 10 Tuesday Books I Loved Less Than I Thought I Would

top10-tuesday

This week’s topic is books that we didn’t like as much as we thought we were going to. This doesn’t necessarily mean that we didn’t like them but they weren’t as good as we were expecting them to be.

wayfarer-read

Wayfarer by Alexandra Bracken- I really enjoyed Passenger and I was expecting a lot from the conclusion. However, I didn’t like this as much as I thought I was going to and I didn’t think that it was as good as Passenger.

uprooted

Uprooted by Naomi Novik- I’ve heard nothing but good things about this book so I was expecting to really like it. I really did not like this book, it took me ages to get into it and I seriously considered DNF’ing it.

When We Collided

When We Collided by Emery Lord– When this book came out so many people were raving about it. I was expecting this to be an amazing story that dealt with mental health and whilst it does deal with mental health it wasn’t as good as I was expecting. I felt that this book focused too much on the romance rather than mental health which is what I was expecting it to focus on.

Code Name Verity

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein– This is another book that a lot of people really love but for me, it just wasn’t good as I was expecting. I found this book to be very difficult to get into and I didn’t like the first POV.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower

The Perks of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky– This is such a popular book but I really did not like it. I couldn’t get into this book and despite being quite short I really struggled to finish it.

before-i-fall

Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver- I really enjoyed Lauren Oliver’s books and whilst this wasn’t bad it wasn’t as good as I was expecting. I found the plot to be really repetitive and slow.

the-sun-is-also-a-star

The Sun Is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon– I enjoyed Everything Everything but I found that I didn’t enjoy this book as much. I really liked the plot but I wasn’t a fan of the romance. It felt unrealistic and I think it took away from the main issue of the book.

Landline

Landline by Rainbow RowellFangirl and Carry On are two of my favourite books so I was expecting to love this but I really did not like this. I really struggled to finish this and it is one of the few books that I have given one star to.

Glass Sword

Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard– I really enjoyed Red Queen and I was expecting the sequel to be even better but it fell a bit flat for me. I found this book to be a lot slower and I found it very confusing as so many new characters were being introduced.

the-girl-on-the-train

The Girl on the Train by Paule Hawkins- So many people compare this to Gone Girl but I think that Gone Girl is so much better. This was much slower and it didn’t hook me like Gone Girl did.

What books did you put on your list?

Kirsty xoxo

One thought on “Top 10 Tuesday Books I Loved Less Than I Thought I Would

  1. Bummer! It’s never fun when anticipated books don’t meet expectations. I really want to read Alexandra’s duo, Victoria’s trilogy, and also have heard amazing things (like you) about Emery’s. All are on my TBR, so I’ll have to lower my expectations a bit and hope I walk away with an interesting read if nothing else. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

