Review

The Sun Is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon Review

the-sun-is-also-a-star

The Sun Is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon 

I received a copy via Net Galley.

Plot Outline 

Natasha’s family is being deported and sent back to Jamacia. She believes in science and facts and doesn’t believe in fate. Daniel’s parents have high expectations of him and he can’t be the poet that he wants to be. They meet on Natasha’s last day in America but can anything happen between them when Natasha is leaving?

My Opinion 

I knew going into this that there was going to be some major insta-love as the book takes place over the space of a day so I was prepared for it. However, I found this relationship really unrealistic. At the start, Natasha doesn’t believe in love at first sight and seems to have a realistic view on life which I really liked to see. I really didn’t like how quickly she fell for Daniel as it isn’t realistic and it didn’t match what her character was like. I think as I have gotten older I am more harsh with YA contemporaries. When I was younger I would have really loved this type of story but now I am looking for stories that feel more realistic rather than just being a cute romance. I liked how the author wrapped up the story, though. I was really worried that she was going to try and make them have a long distance relationship but she didn’t and I felt that the way things ended between them was realistic. I liked that there was a diverse range of characters in this book and I think that the main topic is really important. I do feel that the romance took over though and I would have liked to have read more about Natasha’s family and the situation that they were in. I am excited to see what Nicola does in the future as I have read both of her books now and I am interested what she will do next.

3 Stars

Kirsty xoxo

2 thoughts on “The Sun Is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon Review

Leave a Reply

