Review

We Were On A Break by Lindsey Kelk Review

we-were-on-a-break

We Were On A Break by Lindsey Kelk 

I received a copy via Net Galley.

Plot Outline 

Liv and Adam go on a romantic holiday and Liv is expecting Adam to propose to her. Instead of a proposal, they end up deciding to take a break from one another. No one can understand why they’ve decided to do this but Adam and Liv are very stubborn and they don’t want to talk about their problems.

My Opinion 

This was a fun quick read. It’s not my favourite book from the author but it was still an enjoyable read. When I first heard the plot for this book I really liked the idea and I also really liked the Friends reference. However,  I felt that there was something lacking from this book. I never really understood why Adam didn’t propose and when they decided to go on a break it seemed a bit realistic. The characters felt really immature and I think that if they had been adults and just talked about their problems things could have been solved a lot quicker. This book is told from both Adam’s and Liv’s perspectives and I understand why the author chose to do this but I found the constant switching to be really confusing. Unfortunately, I didn’t really connect to the relationship so I wasn’t really rooting for them to get back together. I just wanted them to talk about their problems rather than ignoring them and hoping that everything would turn out ok.

3 Stars

Kirsty xoxo

Leave a Reply

