Review

Study Trilogy by Maria V. Snyder Review

Today I am going to be reviewing the Study trilogy by Maria V Snyder. These are the first three books in the Chronicles of Ixia series. I will give you a brief overview of the first book but I will just share my thoughts on the other books as I don’t want to spoil them if you haven’t read them yet.

Poison Study

Poison Study

Yelena is facing execution when she is given the choice of becoming the royal food taster. To be successful she needs to be trained and this involves tasting poisons. Whilst in this position Yelena discovers that she has magical abilities and that there is a plot against Ixia.

I really enjoyed this book. At first glance it sounds ery similar to other YA novels but I still enjoyed reading it. I liked all of the characters. I particularly liked Yelena’s friendship with Ari and Janco. I also really liked the romance between Yelena and Valek. It built up slowly throughout the first book and I really liked seeing it to develop.  I found the story really gripping and I was hooked right from the start.

Magic Study#

Magic Study

I liked this book but I didn’t think it was as good as the first one. Yelena learns a lot more about her magic in this book so we got to see a lot of charcater development which I really liked seeing. I was left a little disappointed by the lack of Valek in this book. I really enjoyed the romance part in the first book and I really missed seeing it in this book. Yelena and Valek were seperated for the majority of the book and I missed seeing their intereactions.

Fire Study

Fire Study

This book was my least favourite in the triligoy. For me the series decreased in quality as it progressed and I liked each book a little less than the previous. I found that for large parts of this book nothing was really happening and then suddenly something would happen and then it would be back to nothing again. As the trilogy progressed it became more focused on Yelena. I know she is the main character but I really missed seeing characters that I had really liked in the first book. Ari, Janco and Valek were hardly in this book and I was really disappointed that we didn’t get to see more of them.

I do plan on continuing on with the Chronicles of Ixia. The next book is Storm Glass which follows a character that we were introduced to in this series.

Kirsty xoxo

 

2 thoughts on “Study Trilogy by Maria V. Snyder Review

  1. I had the same feelings as you! I read it a while ago so I’m not clear on the details anymore, but this is still the series I point at whenever I need an example of a series that just decreases in quality with each book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

