Wrap Up

January Wrap Up

Today I am sharing with you the books that I read in the month of January. I read 7 books last month which I am quite happy with although it is half of what I read in January in 2016. I am currently in my last year of university so I don’t always get the time to read as much as I would like to. I read quite a lot of 2 and 3-star books this month which isn’t that great. My favourite book of the month is a tie between Room and Beautiful Broken Things.

the-horse-and-his-boy

The Horse and His Boy by C.S.Lewis- I found this story so boring and I really struggled to finish it. It is a really short book but it felt like it took me forever to read it. I found the story really confusing and not a lot happened for the majority of the book.

beautiful-broken-things

Beautiful Broken Things by Sara Barnard- I really like that this book focused on friendship rather than romance. All the characters in this book were really realistic and the situation that they were in felt like a real situation. Sara dealt with a difficult topic in a really successful way.

uprooted

Uprooted by Naomi Novik- I was expecting to really enjoy this book as I had heard so many good things about it but I really did not like it. I found it to be really slow and boring. I struggled to get through it and I even considered DNFing it.

summer-days-summer-nights

Summer Days, Summer Nights by Stephanie Perkins- I was really concerned that I wasn’t going to like this book as I didn’t enjoy the first few stories. However, I did end up enjoying it as the stories got better. I don’t think that this was as good as My True Love Gave To Me but it was still an enjoyable read.

frankenstein

Frankenstein by Mary Shelley- This was my classic of the month and I enjoyed reading it. It took me a while to get into but I ended up liking it. This is a very slow moving book but it is quite an easy read compared to other classics that I have read.

wayfarer-read

Wayfarer by Alexandra Bracken- I was a little disappointed with this book. I really enjoyed Passenger and I was expecting a lot from the finale but it didn’t deliver for me. It was very slow and it took me a really long time to get into it.

room

Room by Emma Donoghue- This book is just as good as everyone says it is. It took me awhile to get used to Jack’s POV but I think that it worked really well for the book.

What was your favourite book that you read in January?

Kirsty xoxo

One thought on “January Wrap Up

  1. I read ‘A Quiet Kind of Thunder’ in January by Sara Barnard and loved it. It’s so realistic and tackles mental amazingly. I recommend it as you like Beautiful Broken things

    Like

Leave a Reply

