Review

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak Review

The Book Thief

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak 

Plot Outline 

This book is set in WW2 Germany and follows a young girl called Liesel. Liesel steals books and with the help of her father, she learns to read them. During air raids, she reads to her neighbours and the Jewish man that her family is hiding in their basement.

My Opinion

I thought this book was fantastic and it was one of my favourite reads of 2016. I thought that using Death as the narrator was a really interesting and unique idea. When I started I wasn’t sure if it was going to work but I think it worked really well and I think that it made the story have more of an impact. Death spoils parts of the story by telling you who is going to die but this did not make the deaths any less important. I still found it emotional despite knowing that they were going to die. I thought that this was a really well-written book that had a lot of powerful and emotional moments. The ending was particularly heartbreaking. I really liked the characters in this book and I quickly grew attached to them particularly Max and Liesel. All of the characters are unique and over time you grow attached to them even though you know that some of them are going to die. I really liked the relationship between Hans and Liesel. We don’t often get to see good family relationships but I really like the bond between them. Overall I thought that this was an excellent read and I would strongly suggest that you check this out if you haven’t read it already.

5 Stars

Kirsty xoxo

4 thoughts on “The Book Thief by Markus Zusak Review

Leave a comment