Review

The Boy at the Top of the Mountain by John Boyne

The Boy at the Top of the Mountain

The Boy at the Top of the Mountain by John Boyne

Plot Outline 

Pierrot becomes orphaned and has to go and live with his aunt who is a servant for a wealthy family. What Pierrot doesn’t know is that the house belongs to Adolf Hitler. Hitler takes an interest in Pierrot and takes him under his wing.

My Opinion 

I picked up this book because I read John’s other WW2 book The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas (TBITSP) and I thought that it was really good. This book was good but I don’t think that it was as good as TBITSP. The idea for this book was quite unique and unlike any other WW2 novel that I have read. Pierrot is not a very likeable character and I think that this was done intentionally by the author. At the start of the book, he is a young child and is very innocent. As the novel progresses we get to see the change in his character as he becomes cruel and power hungry. I thought that the author did a really good job at showing how easy it is for people to be manipulated particularly, children.  I think that this is a very important read as although it is set during WW2 the idea of people being manipulated by people in power to do horrible things is still relevant today. Despite being aimed at children I think that this could be read by all ages and everyone can learn something from it. This is a very quick read and I read it in one setting. I would recommend this book if you are looking to read more WW2 fiction or you want an introduction to the genre.

Actual rating: 3.5

3 Stars

Kirsty xoxo

Leave a Reply

