Review

The Witch’s Kiss and The Witch’s Tears by Katharine and Elizabeth Corr Review

To celebrate the release date of The Witch’s Tears by Katharine and Elizabeth Corr I thought I would write a review for the first and second book in this series. At this moment this is going to be a trilogy and I can’t wait for the conclusion. I was lucky enough to receive copies of these books from Net Galley. To avoid spoilers I will be giving a brief summary of book one and then I will be sharing my overall thoughts for both of the books.

Plot Outline 

Merry is a typical teenager apart from the fact that she is a witch and it is her destiny to stop the King of Hearts who was created many years ago by an evil wizard.

The Witch's Kiss

The Witch’s Kiss by Katharine and Elizabeth Corr

From the start, this book drew me in. We slowly get to learn more about the King of Hearts and why he was created. I found this really interesting and I enjoyed seeing glimpses of the past. I thought that this book was really well paced and I couldn’t put it down. I just needed to know if Merry was going to be able to defeat the King of Hearts. Something that I really enjoyed seeing in this book was the relationship that Merry had with her brother. They had a really strong sibling relationship and it was really refreshing to see this as I feel that YA books are really lacking in good sibling relationships.

the-witchs-tears

The Witch’s Tears by Katharine and Elizabeth Corr

I thought that this was a really good sequel. I was a little bit worried at the start that I wasn’t going to enjoy this one as much. It took me a bit longer to get into this book compared to the first one. There was so much action that happened in the last part of the book that it had me on the edge of my seat. Although I had predicted who the bad guy was I was not expecting that ending. I can’t believe the cliffhanger that this book ends on I desperately need the next book as I need to know what is going to happen.

If you haven’t picked up the fist book yet I would highly recommend it as I really enjoyed reading it. Plus on a side note, the covers for these books are beautiful.

4 Stars

Kirsty xoxo

Leave a Reply

