Review

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein Review

Code Name Verity

Code Name Verity by  Elizabeth Wein 

Plot Outline 

This novel follows two girls during World War Two. A British plane crashes and one of the girls is captured by the Gestapo. As a spy Verity is in a difficult situation she is given the choice of revealing her mission or being executed. Verity tells the tale of how she and Maddie became friends and why she left Maddie in the plane crash.

My Opinion 

I was really disappointed with this book. After reading Salt to the Sea I really wanted to read more WW2 fiction and I had heard so many good things about this book. I took me a really long time to get into this book. It took me well over 200 pages to really get into this book. This book has two POVs and I found the first part really slow and difficult to get through. The second part which was Maddie’s POV I found much more interesting and didn’t struggle through it quite as much. I thought that the plot twist was really well done and I wasn’t expecting it. There were some heartbreaking moments in this book but unfortunately, I didn’t like this book as much as I was expecting to. Despite not loving this book I really enjoyed the friendship element in this book which is something that you don’t see a lot in WW2 fiction.

3 Stars

Kirsty xoxo

2 thoughts on “Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein Review

Leave a Reply

