Tag

The Bookish Book Tag

Today I am doing the Bookish Book Tag. You can watch the original here.

Questions:
1. What is a well-loved book that you hated?

Attachments

Attachments by Rainbow Rowell– A lot of people really love this book as well as Landline but I really didn’t like either of these books. I found the plot really strange in Attachments as it was about a guy who fell in love with a girl because he read her work emails. It seemed really bizarre to me. The main character came across as being really creepy and the girl didn’t seem concerned that he’d been reading her emails.

2. What is a guilty pleasure book?

The Selection

The Selection by Kiera Cass– I love this series so much. The first three books, in particular, are so much fun to read. They aren’t serious books and I just love reading about Maxon and America’s relationship as well as all of the gorgeous dresses.
3. Have you ever spoiled a book for someone? If so, which book?

I have never intentionally spoiled a book for anyone but I did accidentally spoil The Fault In Our Stars for my mum. I was talking about it with my sister and we were talking about a character’s death and my mum overheard us. Luckily I don’t think that it is such a major spoiler as I feel that it is quite obvious when you read the book.

4. What book made you ugly cry?

Me Before You

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes– I rarely cry at books. I am much more likely to cry at films or TV shows but I did cry a little when I read Me Before You. Even though what happened was predictable it was still heartbreaking.
5. What is your latest DNF?

the-strange-and-beautiful-sorrows-of-ava-lavender

The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Lesly Walton- I rarely DNF books as I like to work my way through them. I really could not get into this book. I tried really hard as I know how much people love it but it just wasn’t happening.
6. Which book have you read due to controversy?

Fifty of Shade of Grey

Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L. James- So many people were talking about this book and I wanted to read it so I could form my own opinion on it. Whilst they are som problematic themes in this book I didn’t find it to be as bad as I was expecting.
7. Have you read a book where you questioned the authors’ sanity?

alices-adventures-in-wonderland

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carrroll- I really enjoyed this book don’t get me wrong but there is so much madness. This is basically the whole premise of Wonderland and you do have to question Carroll’s sanity as he was the one who created this world of madness.
8. What is the most cringe-worthy book you’ve read?

To All The Boys I've Loved Before

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han– This book was so cliche and cringey. The plot was very predictable and all the way through I was cringing.
9. What book have you read solely due to the cover?

Neptune's Tears

Neptune’s Tears by Susan Waggoner- I bought this and read it due to the pretty cover but I really wish I hadn’t. This book was not at all what I was expecting and I really did not enjoy it.
10. Name a book you’re embarrassed to admit you’ve read.

Fifty of Shade of Grey

Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L. James- I’m never embarrassed to say that I’ve read a book. If I was going to be embarrassed I wouldn’t have read it in the first place. The closest answer I have for this is Fifty Shades of Grey and that is because of all the negative associations people have with this book. I’m more embarrassed to say which books I haven’t read.
11. Name an unknown book you wish more people know of.

The Witch's Kiss

The Witch’s Kiss by Katharine and Elizabeth Corr- This came out last year and the sequel comes out this year. I really enjoyed this book and I wish more people would read it.

12. Name a favorite villain.

Fairest

Queen Levana from The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer– She is pure evil. She is so manipulative and cruel and she makes the perfect villain.

13. Name a book you enjoyed that you read that is outside the norm of genre you usually read.

And Then There Were None

And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie– I usually read fantasy and contemporary. This is a mystery and it is one of the best that I have ever read. I loved the atmosphere in this book as it was so tense and it kept me guessing.

14. Name tropes you actually enjoy reading.

This was a really difficult one to answer but I do really enjoy The Chosen One trope if it is done well. I really enjoy seeing someone discover that they have the power to save the world. I also really enjoy seeing strong female lead characters.
15. What/who inspired you to join book tube/blogging?

I already had a blog before I started this one so I already enjoyed blogging. When I found the Booktube community I decided to create a new blog just for books. I can’t remember who I found first.

Kirsty xoxo

Leave a Reply

