Uncategorized

2016 Reading Stats

Today I thought I would do a post comparing my 2016 reading year to my 2015 reading year.

How many books read?

In 2015 I read 107 books and in 2016 I read 147 books.

Genres

 

In 2015 I read a lot of fantasy and although in 2016 I still read a lot of fantasy books I read more contemporary. In 2017 I would like to read from more genres particularly classics and historical fiction.

Longest and Shortest Books

2015: 676- This Charming Man by Marian Keyes 58- The Diamond as Big as the Ritz by F. Scott Fitzgerald

2016: 823- Winter by Marissa Meyer 62- Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell

Old vs New

I read quite a few more new releases in 2016 and this is partly due to the fact that I signed up for Net Galley and received quite a few arcs to read. In 2017 I would like to have a more equal split between new and old books.

Male vs Female Authors

I wanted to read more books written by male authors in 2016 but unfortunately, I didn’t achieve this. I’m not sure why the majority of books I read are by female authors but I would really like to try and read from more male authors.

Series vs Standalones

I was happy with the ratio of standalones to series that I read this year. I wanted to read more standalones as I often read a lot of series and sometimes I just want to be told the whole story in one book.

Ratings

In 2016 I felt that I was harsher with my ratings as I gave a lot more books three and four stars. A book had to really impress me to gain a five-star rating whereas in 2015 I feel that I may have been generous with my ratings and if I reread them I would probably give them a lower rating.

Monthly Breakdown

Once again it was during the summer that I got most of my reading done. It tails off towards the end of summer as that is when I started my job so I didn’t get as much reading done. October was my worse month in 2016 as I got into a major reading slump so during September and October I didn’t read a much as I would have liked.

Overall I am happy with my reading year and I am hoping that 2017 will be even better.

Kirsty xoxo

 

 

2 thoughts on “2016 Reading Stats

Leave a Reply

