Review

The Perks of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky Review

the-perks-of-being-a-wallflower

Plot Outline

This book follows Charlie who is a freshman in high school. He is not popular and he is extremely shy. He spends most of his time on the sidelines and we get to see him explore all the things that come with being a teenager.

My Opinion 

So many people really like this book and I have heard so many positive things about it. I was really looking forward to reading this as I had heard so many positive things however, I really did not get on with this book. This book is quite short at just over 200 pages but I really struggled to get through it. Very little seemed to happen during this book and the plot was very slow moving. I found it difficult to keep up with what was happening as the plot really didn’t grab my attention. This book dealt with a lot of difficult topics such as drugs, homosexuality, depression and many other topics. I usually really appreciate books that deal with these type of topics as it raises awareness however I did not feel that these were dealt with very well in this book. The author had included too many of these topics so couldn’t cover them in the amount of detail that I would have liked to have seen. I think it would have been better if the author had only focused on a couple of these issues. When reading the book it came across as if the author had a checklist of topics that he wanted to include and they were thrown into the book with a very limited explanation. Going into this I knew very little plot and after reading it I still don’t know very much. There didn’t really seem to be much of a plot other than following some guy through high school. I also found it very difficult to connect with Charlie as he did some really random stuff and I didn’t understand why he was doing them or what relevance they had to the story.

Overall I really did not get on with this book but I know that so many people love this book so don’t let my opinion put you off.

Kirsty xoxo

 

2 thoughts on “The Perks of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky Review

  1. This was one of my favourite books this year,maybe because I tend to be a wallflower.I’m so sorry that it wasn’t for you though and I do get what you mean about the issues.Looking at them from the perspective of the issues does make them glossed over but from the introvert/wallflower PoV,it makes a bit of more sense.Great review.Enjoy your next read.

    Like

Leave a Reply

