Review

The Last of the Spirits by Chris Preistly Review

the-last-of-the-spirits

Plot Outline

This is a loose retelling of A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens. The story is told from the perspective of two orphans who meet Scrooge on Christmas Eve. As Scrooge is visited by the spirits so is our main character, Sam. After Scrooge refuses to help Sam and his sister Sam promises to kill Scrooge. The spirits help him to see what the consequences of his actions will be.

My Opinion 

I thought that the author did a really good job of entwining his story with the original. I felt that it captured the character of Scrooge really well and the inclusion of the new characters worked with the story. Despite being a really short book I quickly got attached to the characters and I was invested in their story. I think the author did a really good job of drawing me and kept my attention throughout the book. This book is aimed at children (middle grade) but I honestly think that it could be enjoyed by all ages. I really liked the author’s descriptions of Victorian London. I think that he really captured the poverty and the struggles of people during that time. The descriptions were really vivid and helped to create an eerie atmosphere which is a key part of A Christmas Carol. Overall I really enjoyed this book and I would recommend picking it up during the Christmas period.

Kirsty xoxo

 

 

Leave a Reply

