Review

The Boy With Words by C.E. Wilson Review

The Boy With Words

I received a copy from the author in exchange for an honest review. 

Plot Outline

White has lived her whole live sheltered in her society. Everything outside her world is called The Unknown which is a dangerous place that only a few people get to go to. Her cousin is one of the chosen ones and he brings back objects for White from the outside world. White eventually makes it out but is The Unknown a safe place for her or is she better off in her safe community.

My Opinion

It took me awhile to get into this book and when I first started it I wasn’t sure if I was going to enjoy it. The synopsis is really vague so I wasn’t sure what to expect from it. Once I started reading it I soon worked out that White’s community are really small and I got a bit of a Borrowers vibe. When White ventures into The Unknown she meets a giant person and there is a sort of romance between them. At times White’s character got a little annoying but I mainly liked her. I was unsure what to make of Kes and I couldn’t decide if I liked him or not. I liked the plot and I enjoyed seeing White learn more about the world. I wasn’t a huge fan of the relationship as it happened really quickly. Kes seemed to accept the situation very quickly, I imagine most people would be a bit freaked out if they found out there was a race of small people that lived underground. Whilst it took me awhile to get into this book I ended up enjoying the writing. I do wish that there had been more of a conclusion as the ending is very open.

Overall I enjoyed this book and I would be interested in reading more from the author in the future.

4 Stars

Kirsty xoxo

Leave a Reply

