Review

Flawed by Cecelia Ahern Review

Flawed
Plot Outline 

This book is set in a society that rewards perfection and punishes those who are not perfect. Those that are punished are branded as Flawed and everyone knows that they have committed a crime. Celestine has always followed the rules until one day when one decision causes her to be branded for life.

My Opinion 

Cecelia Ahern usually writes adult contemporary novels and this was her first YA and dystopian novel. I hadn’t read anything by her before although a few of her books are on my TBR. When I heard the plot for this book it sounded really interesting so I had to pick it up and I am really glad that I did. I found the world interesting but I would have liked to have seen a bit more world building. The system that the world had was a little bit confusing and I would have liked a bit more of an explanation. The plot is quite predictable and similar to other dystopian novels. A girl who has always followed the rules of her society begins to question it and starts a revolution. Despite seeing this plot multiple times I still found this book to be quite enjoyable. The short chapters really helped the pacing of the book and I found that I flew through this book. Unlike other YA dystopians the romance in this book was not a big thing. I really appreciated that the author chose to focus on the story rather than adding a needless romance. I do fear that there is going to be more romance in the second book and I only hope that it doesn’t focus too much on it. The ending is left open for the next book. I found the ending to be very anticlimactic but I am hoping that the next book will make up for that. This is going to be a duology which is quite interesting as usually trilogies are used for dystopians. I am looking forward to the next book as I can’t wait to see how the story will be wrapped up.

4 Stars

Kirsty xoxo

3 thoughts on “Flawed by Cecelia Ahern Review

  1. Pingback: June TBR

Leave a Reply

