Review · Wrap Up

The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury Review

The Sin Eater's Daughter

Plot Outline

Twylla is engaged to the Prince but everyone fears her as she is the castle’s executioner. She can kill people with a single touch and she is sent each week to kill those that have been accused of treason. A new guard shows up at the palace and he is able to look past Twylla’s ability and see her as a real person.

My Opinion

I found the start of this  book to be a little slow going and confusing as the author was setting up the world. When I read this I noticed some similarities to other YA books. Particularly the evil queen which reminded me of Queen Levana from the Lunar Chronicles and the Queen in the Red Queen series. I found the concept of the Sin Eater really interesting. When someone dies the Sin Eater has to eat all of their sins and can’t stop until all the sins have been eaten. There was a lot of unexpected things that happened in this book that I really did not see coming at all. There was a particular betrayal that came as a huge shock to me. Overall despite the similarities to other books, I really enjoyed this book and I was really keen to read the next book in the series. I have since read the second book and I enjoyed it just as much as this one and I will be reviewing separately soon. I can’t wait for the next book to come out.

 

4 Stars

What did you think of this book?

Kirsty xoxo

4 thoughts on “The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury Review

Leave a Reply

