Wrap Up

August Wrap Up

deceptions

Deceptions by Kelley Armstrong- I did not enjoy this book as much as I liked the first two books in the series. I found this one to be much slower and difficult to get into. Very little happened in this book despite it being over 500 pages. I really did not like the love triangle as it seemed really unnecessary.

the-form-of-things-unknown

The Form of Things Unknown by Robin Bridges- I enjoyed this book and I thought that the author dealt with mental illness really well. I think the author did a good job at making it seem realistic. I liked the romance in this book as it was a slow building romance and it didn’t happen too quickly.

the-last-star

The Last Star by Rick Yancey- I really struggled to finish this book. After reading the second book and giving it 3 stars I decided I’d read the last book in the series. I felt that this book really lacked a plot as very little happened. It seemed as if the author was struggling to come up with an idea how to wrap everything up. This book constantly jumped POVs and although in this book they were clearly labelled I still found it really confusing.

my-sisters-keeper

My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult- I thought that this book was excellent. The plot is unlike anything else that I have read. This book was really emotional and we got to see the different characters POV. The ending was really shocking and not what I was expecting to happen at all.

end-of-days

End of Days by Susan Ee- I thought that this was a good conclusion to the trilogy and I was happy with the way that the author wrapped everything up. There was so much action in this book and I just flew through it. I would highly recommend this trilogy.

heartless

Heartless by Sara Shepard- I decided that I want to complete the Pretty Little Liars series. I have had this series on my TBR for awhile and I finally want to get around to reading it. I feel that this series has been dragged on for way too long as it has 16 books which I personally think is too many. I found this book to be quite slow and not very much happened.

out-of-the-easy

Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys- I enjoyed this book although it wasn’t quite as good as Salt to the Sea. I found this story really interesting and I loved the setting. I think that Ruta does a great job of creating realistic characters.

everything-everything

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon- I thought that this was a really sweet story. I really liked the relationship build up between Maddy and Olly. I was surprised by the turn that the story took as I really was not expecting it.

wanted

Wanted by Sara Shepard- Originally this was the last book in the series and I think that this would have been a good point to stop as I was satisfied with the way that the author wrapped everything up. As I read further into the series the plot becomes even more far-fetched.

cross-my-heart-hope-to-die

Cross My Heart, Hope to Die by Sara Shepard- I prefer this series to the PLL series. I think that this series is much more intense and it always keeps me guessing. This series always shocks me and keeps me guessing.

seven-minutes-in-heaven

Seven Minutes in Heaven by Sara Shepard- I feel that the killer was quite obvious from the start but I liked the way that author covered it up and made other people look like suspects. The ending was quite emotional and I really enjoyed reading this series.

after-you

After You by Jojo Moyes- I didn’t think that Me Before You needed a sequel but I did end up enjoying this book. I did feel that the story seemed a bit far-fetched as we discover that Will had a daughter that he didn’t know about. I did enjoy this book but I hope that this is the last time that Jojo Moyes will revisit these characters.

every-day

Every Day by David Levithan- I liked the idea behind the plot. We follow a character who wakes up in a different body each day. He meets Rhiannon and he wants to spend every day with her. I found that the story got really repetitive as each chapter followed the same formula. I wasn’t a huge fan of the love story either.

What books did you read in August?

Kirsty xoxo

Leave a Reply

