Review

Wake by Amanda Hocking Review

Wake

Plot Outline

Penn, Lexi, and Thea are new to town and everyone seems to be wary of them. Gemma finds herself being drawn to them as they have decided that she will be part of their group. Gemma plans to have a good summer as she starts a relationship with her friend Alex but something happens to her that changes her life forever.

My Opinion 

I found that I was really interested in the story right from the beginning as it seemed really mysterious. I liked the main character; Gemma as she seemed quite realistic. I didn’t like the relationship between her and Alex as it seemed very instalove. Everything about the relationship felt very awkward. I did however like the relationship that was forming between Daniel and Harper. I felt that they had really good chemistry and I hope that we get to see more of them in other books.  I really liked the sister relationship between Harper and Gemma although Harper had taken the role of mother as the mum was in a home because she had a brain injury. For some reason, in YA there is nearly always an absent parent  and I’m not 100% why this is always used. The pacing of the book was quite fast and got through it very quickly. I felt that the plot was quite predictable although I am interested to continue on with the series. This book ends on a cliffhanger and the author was clearly setting up the story for the other books in the series.

 

3 Stars

Kirsty xoxo

Leave a Reply

