Top 5 Wednesdays

Top 5 Wednesday: Books You Feel Differently About

This week’s topic is really interesting as I was having a discussion with my Mum about this. I was saying that I felt that a lot of the books that I had given 5 stars to in the past would be rated lower if I reread them now. I feel as a reader that I have become more critical of books and it takes something really special to gain 5 stars. I plan on writing a whole post about this at some point but for today’s post, I have 4 books that I believe I would give lower ratings to if I reread them and 1 book that I would give a higher rating to.  If you want to check out the Goodreads group then the link is here.

Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone

Harry Potter by J.K.Rowling- As a child I really did not like Harry Potter. I only ever read the first book and saw the first four films. I just wasn’t interested in it at all. This year I decided that I really wanted to give the books a second chance. I still don’t think that I’m going to be as obsessed as everyone else is but I have enjoyed reading the books a lot more than I did when I was younger.

The Selection

The Selection by Kiera Cass– I gave the first three books in the series 5 stars but I think if I reread them I would only give them 4 stars. I do enjoy this series and I think the books are fun reads but it isn’t the best-written series. I also think that the story could have been condensed into one book and I wish that The Heir hadn’t been written as it just wasn’t as good.

The Fault In Our Stars

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green- I read this book when it was super popular and I think I got caught up in the hype. The more I think about this book the more I feel that I would give it a lower rating if I read it now. I think that I would find Augustus annoying if I was to reread this book.

The Night Circus

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern- I absolutely loved this book and i gave it 5 stars but I feel that perhaps now I would only give it 4 stars. I remember that it took me awhile to get into this book. At the time I really enjoyed it but now I can hardly remember the story which in my eyes is not the sign of a 5-star book.

Twilight

Twilight by Stephenie Meyer- I think that Twilight will always have a special place in my heart as it took up a big part of my life but I do feel that if I reread it now I wouldn’t be quite so obsessed with it.

Which books made your list?

Kirsty xoxo

Leave a Reply

