Wrap Up

July Wrap Up

The Invasion of the Tearling

The Invasion of the Tearling by Erika Johansen- This is the second book in The Queen of the Tearling trilogy.  I thought that this was a fantastic sequel. I really enjoyed how the author slowly revealed more details about the Crossing throughout this book. The book was so fast paced and I find the series to be really addictive and I can’t wait for the last book to be released.

The Shadowhunter's Codex

The Shadowhunter’s Codex by Cassandra Clare- I read this in little sections so it took me quite awhile to finish it. This is the book that is referenced in The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices. This is an interesting read if you are a fan of the Shadowhunter world and want to learn more.

Daughter of Fire and Ice

Daughter of Fire and Ice by Marie- Louise Jensen- I found this book really interesting as it follows a group of Viking settlers who travel to Iceland. I love historical fiction and I found this book interesting as I have not read about this time period before.

The Witch's Kiss

The Witch’s Kiss by Katharine Corr and Elizabeth Corr- I was hooked right from the start of this book. I really liked how the authors combined the element of witches with fairy tales. I enjoyed learning about the curse and seeing the past. I found the story really interesting and I couldn’t put it down.

Doomed Queen Anne

Doomed Queen Anne by Carolyn Meyer- This book followed Anne Boleyn and her quest to become Queen of England. I enjoyed this book but I don’t feel that it offered anything new. It felt very similar to other historical fictions that I’ve read.

Magic Study#

Magic Study by Maria V. Snyder- I enjoyed this book although it wasn’t quite as good as the first book. I was disappointed that Valek was absent for the majority of the book and I would have liked to have seen more of him and Yelena.

The Sleeping Prince

The Sleeping Prince by Melinda Salisbury- I really enjoyed this sequel. We follow a different character in this book which was a little confusing at first but I thought that it was interesting to see another character. I can’t wait to see how the story will be wrapped up in the next book.

Take a Chance on Me

Take a Chance on Me by Jill Mansell- This book was such a fun read. We follow lots of different characters that live in a village. I liked how all the different characters were connected and I enjoyed following their stories.

The Wedding Girl

The Wedding Girl by Madeleine Wickham/ Sophie Kinsella- I enjoyed this book but I felt that it wasn’t as good as other Sophie Kinsella books that I have read. I felt that this one lacked the humor that her other books have.

World After

World After by Susan Ee- I am really enjoying this series. This book was really fast paced and I got through it really quickly. I like the characters in this series although I did miss Raffe in this book as he isn’t in it as much. I can’t wait to see how the story gets wrapped up in the last book.

The Unlikely Hero of Room 13B

The Unlikely Hero of Room 13B by Teresa Toten- This book focused on mental illness and I thought that the author did a really good job of portraying a range of mental illnesses. I found that it took me awhile to get into this book as it is quite slow at the start. I wasn’t a huge fan of the romance in this book and it seemed to be the main focus of the book which is why I only gave it 3 stars.

Fire Study.jpg

Fire Study by Maria V. Snyder- I didn’t enjoy this book as much as the first two. At times very little was happening so the story dragged and then at other times too much was happening so it was difficult to keep up with. I missed seeing some of the characters that we saw in the first book as they were hardly in this book.

Truly Madly Guilty 2.jpg

Truly Madly Guilty by Liane Moriarty- This  wasn’t my favourite book from Liane Moriarty although it was still enjoyable. I didn’t particularly like any of the characters and I found the reveal of the mystery to be a bit anti-climatic.

Kirsty xoxo

Leave a Reply

