Top 10 Tuesdays

Top 10 Tuesday: Books Set Outside the US

This week’s topic is books that are set outside of the US. A lot of books are set in the US so this week celebrates books that are set outside of the US. I have read a lot of books that are set in the US and the UK so I had to try really hard to think of books that are set in other countries.

Dear Amy

Dear Amy by Helen Callaghan- This book is set in England and it follows Margot who is a teacher but also has an advice column in the local newspaper. She starts receiving letters from a girl who has been missing for years. Margot believes that the girl is still alive and she aims to find her.

The Book Thief

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak- This book is set in Germany during WW2. I really enjoyed this book as it was such an emotional read. I thought that it was really interesting as the book was narrated by Death which I thought was very unique and worked really well in this setting.

Salt to the Sea

Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys- This is another book set during WW2 in Germany. This book is about the Wilhelm Gustloff ship which was something that I had never heard of until I read this book. I thought this was really well written and found myself being really invested in the story.

Three Wishes

Three Wishes by Liane Moriarty- Liane Moriarty is an Australian author and all of her books are set in Australia. I really like Liane Moriarty’s ability to create realistic characters and write about difficult topics such as domestic abuse. This book is about triplets and the lives they lead. This book was slightly different to her other books as it didn’t have a mystery but it was still really enjoyable.

Anna and the French Kiss

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins– This book is set in France and it is such a cute contemporary. It is about Anna who is sent to a school in France where she meets Etienne St Clair. This was such a cute romance and would make a perfect summer read.

The Dinner

The Dinner by Herman Koch– This book is set in the Netherlands. It is about two families where the sons have committed a terrible crime but only the parents know that it was them. The parents meet up for a dinner to discuss what they are going to do. I really liked the idea behind this book but I found that it was really boring and not a lot happened.

And Then There Were None

And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie– This book is set in the UK. I really enjoyed this book. I loved the atmosphere that Agatha Christie created and it kept me guessing right up until the end.

Secrets and Lies

Secrets and Lies by Jaishree Misra- This book is set in India. It is about a group of girls who went to a private school. When they were at school 20 years ago something happened and they have all kept the secret.

Daughter of Fire and Ice

Daughter of Fire and Ice by Marie-Louise Jensen- This book is set in Iceland. I found this book really interesting as it is about Vikings settling in Iceland which is something that I have never read about before.

In the Woods

In the Woods by Tana French– This book is set in Ireland. I really enjoyed this mystery and I stayed up late one night to finish it as I needed to know what had happened. There were a few loose ends that weren’t tied up which left me a little dissapointed but overall I really enjoyed it.

Leave me the links to your posts as I’d love to check them out.

Kirsty xoxo

Leave a Reply

