Films

Love and Friendship Movie Discussion

Love and Friendship is a film that is based on a short story written by Jane Austen. Jane Austen wrote a short story called Love and Friendship, however, this film is based on the story called Lady Susan. I read both Love and Friendship and Lady Susan before going to see the film. In this post,  I will be discussing both the book and film and comparing the two.

The Book

Lady Susan

Lady Susan is a flirtatious and scandalous women. She plots and schemes and is on the look out for a new husband as well as to find a match for her daughter. The story is told through letters from various different characters to one another. Lady Susan is a very different character compared to the other Austen characters that I have read about. It was interesting to hear what other characters thought about her. This book was quite amusing in places and I found the character of Lady Susan to be very funny. This is a short story so as a result, I felt that I didn’t connect with the characters in the same way that I would have if this had been a full-length novel. Overall I enjoyed the book but I did feel that it wasn’t as good as the other Jane Austen novels that I have read.

The Movie

I had a feeling that I was going to enjoy the movie more than the book and this ended up being the case. I thought the film did a really good job of capturing the story and it was really amusing. I thought that actress playing Lady Susan did a really good job of portraying the character. Overall this was a really enjoyable film with some really funny moments. I think it captured the story really well and I felt more of a connection with the characters.

Kirsty xoxo

 

Leave a Reply

