Top 5 Wednesdays

Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Father Figures

This week’s topic is Favourite Father Figures in celebration of Father’s Day which is on Sunday. I found this topic really difficult as the majority of YA books don’t have any parents in them. For some reason, a lot of authors choose to write about characters whose parents are dead so I found it hard to pick answers for this week’s post. I have decided to pick a couple of TV fathers as well as book fathers as otherwise my list would be much shorter.  If you want to check out the Goodreads group then the link is here.

Lola and the Boy Next Door

Lola’s dads from Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins- I loved that Stephanie Perkins included a gay couple in her book. I really liked Lola’s dads as they both clearly loved Lola. I really enjoyed reading about them as they had a great relationship with Lola.

City of Bones

Luke from The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare– Although Luke isn’t Clary’s father I really like the relationship that these two characters have. Luke really cares for Clary and her mother and I like that he would do anything to protect Clary.

Pride and Prejudice

Mr Bennet from Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen- I find Mr Bennet to be really funny as he has a sarcastic sense of humor and has to put up with the antics of his wife and daughters.

Sandy Cohen from The O.C.- I love Sandy, he is the perfect father figure. He takes in Ryan to save him from jail. I think he is really fun and would do anything for his family.

Joe West from The Flash-  Joe is a great father to Iris and Barry. I particularly like the relationship that he has with Barry and how he treats him as his own son. Joe always does everything in his power to protect his kids.

Kirsty xoxo

 

Leave a Reply

