Review

Review Mash Up

Shine

Shine by Candy Gourlay

Plot Outline

This is about Rosa who has a disease called The Calm and she lives on an island with her father. People on the island are very superstitious of people who have The Calm and as a result, Rosa has to stay inside her house. She spends a lot of time online and she starts talking to someone who also has a secret.

My Opinion

I ended up really enjoying this story although it did take me awhile to get into it. We get flashbacks of Rosa’s mum when she was younger. At first, it was difficult to get used to these flashbacks as I found them confusing. I found the story  to be really fast paced and I read a large portion of it in one sitting. This was really well written and I thought it dealt with prejudice quite well. So much happened in a relatively short book and it kept me hooked until the end.

All My Secrets

All My Secrets by Sophie McKenzie

Plot Outline

Evie finds out that she was adopted when her birth mother leaves her a fortune. Evie ends up going to an island which is meant to help ‘troubled’ teens. Whilst on the island she starts seeing her mother’s ghost and believes that she was murdered on the island.

My Opinion

This book instantly hooked me in. There was so much drama and it was really fast paced. I really enjoy the mystery accept of this story as it helped to keep me interested. I did find the ending to be really anticlimactic and I was a little disappointed. I thought that the ending was quite predictable and I had guessed who was involved quite early on. I was hoping for a big plot twist but unfortunately, I did not get this.

 

Stonebird

Stonebird by Mike Revell 

Plot Outline

This story was about a magic gargoyle that helps make Liam’s stories come to life. The gargoyle protects Liam from bullies and also helps his sick Grandma.

My Opinion

I really enjoyed this book and I thought that it was really well written. As it is aimed at younger readers it was a really quick read. Despite being aimed at younger readers this still dealt with some difficult topics such as bullying and dealing with dementia. I thought the dementia was dealt with really well and it seemed to be a realistic portrayal of the illness.

The Crowham Martyrs

The Crowham Martyrs by Jane McLoughlin

Plot Outline

This book takes place at a boarding school and the main character can see ghosts. Something is wrong at the school and one of the girls has gone missing. Maddy must use her ability to find out what is going on at the school.

My Opinion

I found this story to be fast paced and I read it quite quickly. Despite being a quick read I did find it to be rather confusing and there were times when I wasn’t really sure what was happening. I thought that it was well written and the descriptions were really detailed which really helped me to picture the setting.

Kirsty xoxo

One thought on “Review Mash Up

Leave a Reply

