Wrap Up

May Wrap Up

Passenger

Passenger by Alexandra Bracken- I really enjoyed this book. When I first started this I was worried that I wasn’t going to like it as it seemed a bit slow but the pacing soon picked up and I was hooked into the story. I really enjoyed the writing in this book, Alexandra Bracken gives really long descriptions of the places that the characters are in which really helped me to imagine all of these places.

Baby Doll

Baby Doll by Hollie Overton– I thought that this was a really well-written book. I was hooked right from the start. I liked that this focused more on how the characters adapted to life after the kidnapping rather than focusing on the kidnapping and abuse. There were some really shocking moments and there was one in particular that I was really not expecting.

Cruel Crown

Cruel Crown by Victoria Aveyard- I liked the first story in this collection but I really disliked the second story. It was interesting to find out about Cal’s mother bur I don’t think this collection added anything to the series.

The Neverland Wars

The Neverland Wars by Audrey Greathouse– I really enjoyed this book. It is a Peter Pan retelling. I loved the poetic writing that was used in this book. The descriptions of Neverland were beautiful and I could easily picture the place.

Salt to the Sea

Salt to the Sea- I thought this book was amazing. It is set during World War 2 and is about the Wilhelm Gustloff ship which is something I hade never heard of before this book. I thought that this was really written and I ended up getting really hooked into the story.

Lady Midnight

Lady and Midnight by Cassandra Clare- This book was amazing. I think it is my new favourite Cassandra Clare book. I really liked all of the new characters and there were so many plot twists.

Flawed

Flawed by Cecelia Ahern- I wasn’t sure if I was going to like this book as I had heard mixed things about it. The plot is very similar to other dystopian novels but something I really liked about this one was that romance wasn’t the main focus.

Shadow Kiss

Shadow Kiss by Richelle Mead- I am in the process of rereading this series as I want to read The Bloodlines series. I really enjoy this series. So much happened in this book and I thought that Rose really grew up a lot. The ending of this book was such a cliffhanger and I honestly can’t remember what happens in the next book so I am really looking forward to reading it.

The Boy With Words

The Boy With Words by C.E. Wilson- This book took me awhile to get into but I ended up really enjoying. The plot was interesting, it was about a group of small people that live underground. They have never seen the outside world until one girl leaves the group. I wasn’t a huge fan of the romance in this book but overall I thought it was really well written.

When We Collided

When We Collided by Emery Lord- I thought that this book was really disappointing. It took me a really long time to get into. I really didn’t like the relationship in this book as it felt really rushed. This book is about mental health but I felt that it focused more on the relationship. Eliza Rose

Eliza Rose by Lucy Worsley- I really enjoyed this book which is set during the Tudor period. The author is a historian and she has written quite a few non-fiction novels. This is her first novel and I really enjoyed it. I thought that this created a really realistic image of the Tudor court and it was clear that the author knew the subject area really well. The Devil Wears Prada

The Devil Wears Prada by Lauren Weisberger- I enjoyed the film of this but I wasn’t as keen on the book. It seemed to take a really long time to get going. There were a lot of other subplots that seemed a bit unnecessary. In my opinion, this is one of the rare cases where the film is better than the book.

The Boy Most Likely To

The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick- This book wasn’t what I was expecting. I was expecting a light summery contemporary but this wasn’t like that at all. I found it really difficult to connect with any of the characters and I also struggled with the multiple POVs.

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling- I am really glad that I have given this series a second chance. I find the books to be enjoyable although they are quite basic. I am excited to continue on with this series.

What most your favourite book of May?

Kirsty xoxo

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

