Top 10 Tuesdays

Top 10 Tuesday: Books I Picked Up On A Whim

This week’s topic for Top 10 Tuesday is books that you picked up on a whim. This topic is basically talking about all the books that I bought without hearing anything about them. I do buy a lot of books because I have heard people talk about them on Youtube/ Blogs/ Goodreads etc. However, I do also pick up books at random especially from charity shops or the library. I pick books up either because of the title, cover or blurb. Sometimes doing this I can find some real gems and other times I find books that are not as good as I was hoping.

Neptune's Tears

Neptune’s Tears by Susan Waggoner- I picked this up in The Works. For those of you who don’t know The Works offers a deal where you can get 3 books for £5. I’d already found 2 books and I needed a third so I grabbed this one. The cover and title really intrigued me. I briefly read the blurb but for some reason, I thought that this was a fantasy novel. It is instead a dystopian love story. I ended up not really enjoying this book as I found it quite slow and I didn’t like the romance between the two characters.

Stonebird

Stonebird by Mike Revell- I really enjoyed this book. It is about Liam and a magical gargoyle. The gargoyle protects Liam and whenever Liam tells it stories they come true. He uses the gargoyle to help his grandma who has dementia. This dealt with topics such as family, bullying, and dementia and I thought that it dealt with these topics very well.

Shine

Shine by Candy Gourlay- This book was a really good read. It follows Rose who has a disease known as The Calm which means that she can’t speak. I found it slow to start with but by the end, I found it really enjoyable.

Royal Harlot

Royal Harlot by Susan Holloway Scott- I picked this up in a charity as I needed it for a challenge I was participating in. I need to read a book with a yellow dress on the cover. This is a historical fiction novel set during the reign of Charles 2nd which is a period I am not very familiar with. I enjoyed this book but I felt that there was too much of a focus on sex rather than the actual story.

The Iron Witch

Iron Witch by Karen Mahoney– This book sounded really interesting but I found it to be really disappointing. It  felt too similar to other YA books that I have read. I felt that the plot seemed very formulaic and it tried to get as many YA tropes in as it possibly could.

Little Bones

Little Bones by Janette Jenkins– I was intrigued by this story as it is a historical fiction set during the Victorian period. The story follows Jane Stretch who is a cripple. Her parents abandoned her and she ends up working for a doctor who performs illegal abortions. It took me awhile to get into but I ended up enjoying it.

Emerald

Emerald by Karen Wallace- Despite being a quick read I thought in places that it was a bit slow. This is another historical fiction set during the time of Queen Elizabeth 1st. Emerald is set to marry a horrible man but when she learns of a plot to kill the queen she goes undercover at court to discover the plot. However, this was more of a subplot and the main focus was on Elizabeth and her marriage.

Wonder

Wonder by R.J. Palacio-I picked this up in the library as it sounded really interesting. It is about a boy with a facial abnormality which is something that I never read about before. This follows his journey as he goes to school for the first time.

The Siren

The Siren by Kiera Cass– I read this book before it was republished this year. I picked it up as I really enjoy siren/mermaid stories and this one sounded really interesting. I ended up really enjoying it. I want to reread the new version as I know that Kiera Cass has rewritten parts of it.

Switched

Switched by Amanda Hocking– I picked this up in Tesco. What initially drew me to this was the cover and then I read the blurb and I was really interested in the story. This book is about trolls which is an unusual topic and I had never read anything with trolls in before. I ended up really enjoying this trilogy and I would highly recommend it.

Kirsty xoxo

 

Leave a Reply

