Review

The Neverland Wars by Audrey Greathouse Review

The Neverland Wars

Plot Outline

This is a Peter Pan retelling. In this world magic is real and adults want to take it from Peter. Gwen gets caught up in this world when her sister decides to follow Peter to Neverland. In this book, Peter is a bit older as his trips to the real world have aged him so Gwen isn’t the oldest person in Neverland. We get to see Gwen and Peter go on lots of adventures in Neverland but Gwen needs to decide whether she is going to stay in Neverland or go back to the real world.

My Opinion

I really enjoyed this book. I thought the writing was really good and it had a poetic feel to it. I loved the descriptions of Neverland as they made it really easy to picture. I could really relate to Gwen at the start of this book. At the start, Gwen is struggling to come to terms with the fact that she has to grow up. This is something that I think everyone will be able to relate to. I thought the author captured the essence of Peter really well and he was just like the Peter that we all know. There were a lot of side characters in this story that we didn’t get to know as well but were still really interesting. I especially liked the mermaids. The story started out a little slowly but once Gwen got to Neverland the pace really picked up. Once Gwen got to Neverland I was really interested in the story and I couldn’t put it down. I found the ending to be a bit sudden. The ending is left very open and I don’t feel that it was a proper conclusion. I personally would have loved for this to have been longer as it was just getting really exciting and then it ended. I hope that the author plans to write a sequel as I would love to revisit these characters and the world.

Overall I really enjoyed this book and I would recommend it if you are a fan of retellings. This book came out yesterday so you’ll be able to get your hands on it straight away if you are interested.

4 Stars

Kirsty xoxo

 

I received a copy of this from Net Galley in exchange for an honest review. 

10 thoughts on “The Neverland Wars by Audrey Greathouse Review

Leave a Reply

