Review

Baby Doll by Hollie Overton Review

Baby Doll

Plot Outline

Lily was abducted 8 years by Rick Hanson her English teacher. She was kept in the basement of a cabin and this was where her daughter Sky was born. One day, Rick leaves the door open and Lily is able to escape. Lily struggles with adjusting to living outside the cabin. Reconnecting with her mother and twin sister is hard especially whilst trying to bring the man who kidnapped her to justice.

My Opinion

This story is told not just from the perspective of Lily but of her mother, sister, and kidnapper. We get to see how these events have impacted all of these characters lives. I found this story gripping has the effects on all the characters were different but I wanted to find out where the story went. I wanted to see Lily get the justice that she deserved. Something happened in this book that I was really not expecting. I was genuinely shocked when this occurred and it just goes to show how deeply everyone was affected by these events. The ending is left quite open which some people won’t like but I thought that it suited the story well. We see Lily getting on with her life, she has gone to college and she has met someone new. I thought that this was a really good first novel, it had me hooked from the start. Sometimes I do not like multiple perspectives but I felt for this story it really worked and it helped to make the story more fast paced and I think it helped to see how all the characters were affected by the events. Although, we do get a glimpse of what happened in the cabin I am glad that this wasn’t the main focus of the novel and that the author instead chose to focus on the characters adapting to the situation.

I thought that this was a really well-written book and I am looking forward to reading more from this author in the future. I think she can create really good characters and dramatic situations and I am sure that her next book will be even better.

4 Stars

Kirsty xoxo

 

I received a copy of this from Net Galley in exchange for an honest review. 

6 thoughts on “Baby Doll by Hollie Overton Review

Leave a Reply

