US vs UK Book Covers

I decided to do this post after I went to buy a copy of Salt to the Sea by Ruta Septys. I heard a lot of good things about it on Booktube and the cover looked absolutely stunning so I needed a copy. When I went into WH Smith I was horrified to see that the pretty cover that I wanted had been changed and replaced with something that wasn’t as visually appealing. I decided to compare US and UK book covers to see which ones I prefer.

Throughout this post, US covers will be on the left-hand side and the UK covers on the right-hand side.

Salt to the Sea by Ruta Septys- For me the US cover is much more striking and I think the image has more of an impact. I think the stormy look suits the tone of the story more than the UK cover. Winner- US

Truthwitch by Susan Dennard- The girl on the US cover looks really badass and I think she looks like a fierce witch. The girl on the UK cover doesn’t look as intimidating. I do like the use of the yellow on the blue cover but I think the US cover looks like it suits the story more. Winner- US

I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella- I really like both of these covers but I feel that the US cover is a bit too simple. The UK fits with the other Sophie Kinsella books whereas the US one is very different from the other book covers. Winner- UK

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell- I really like the simplicity of the US cover. I think that the UK cover has too much going on in it. Winner- US

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins- I really like the black and the use of colours on the UK cover. I think the UK cover better portrays a train moving past. I don’t really like the typography on the US cover as it makes it difficult to read. Winner- UK

Lord of Misrule by Rachel Caine- I don’t really like either of the covers. The US cover makes it looks like romance is the main focus of the story but it really isn’t. Although there are couples in the series they are not the main focus. I think the black covers with  brightly coloured font works really well but I am not a fan of the face on the cover. Winner- UK

Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas– The cover shown is the original US cover which they have thankfully changed. I really like the UK covers, the original US covers just don’t scream badass assassin like the UK covers do. Even compared to the new US covers I still like the UK covers as I really like the white background. Winner- UK

Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen- I like both these covers. The UK cover is really simple but also draws you in. The US cover is gorgeous with the swirls around the edges and the castle in the background. They have changed the cover for the last book and I really don’t like the new design. You can see the new cover here. I’m hoping the UK will get a different cover. Winner- US

If you want me to do this post again in the future and you want me to include a specific book let me know.

Kirsty xoxo

2 thoughts on “US vs UK Book Covers

Leave a Reply

