Review

The Giver by Lois Lowry

The Giver

Plot Outline

This story follows Jonas who lives in a world that is highly controlled and is colourless. Jonas is assigned the position Receiver of Memory and he soon discovers things from the past that his society has made everyone forget.

My Opinion 

I found the world really interesting and I can see how other dystopian novels have been influenced by this book. I thought that the story was really well structured and although it was a children’s book I didn’t find the writing too basic. The book is quite short so we didn’t get to see as much world building as I would have liked. I would have liked to have learned more about the world as I found it really interesting. Lois Lowry has written three other books set in this world so I am interested to read those so I can learn more about this world. This book really makes you think as it really questions whether a life without suffering is actually good or whether suffering is needed in order to learn from it. I would have loved to have studied this book at school as I think you could have some really interesting discussions about it.

5 Stars

Kirsty xoxo

4 thoughts on “The Giver by Lois Lowry

Leave a Reply

